Questions and answers about Berlin TXL (as of November 2020)

Here you will find answers to frequently asked questions. Should you wish to have some additional information, please do speak to us. You will find your contact person here.

 

What is happening on the grounds of the former Tegel Airport?

The following are the developments now emerging on the five square kilometer site:

Berlin TXL – The Urban Tech Republic

From the airport buildings and on the site of their adjoining areas, Berlin TXL, the Urban Tech Republic, is being created – a research and industrial park where technologies for tomorrow's city will be researched, developed, produced, tested and exported. Here is where science and research meet industry and commercial enterprise, and where start-ups meet investors. Six key issues for urban technologies have been defined for the curated site:

  • climate-neutral energy systems and the efficient use of energy
  • environmentally friendly mobility
  • clean water
  • recycling
  • the use of new materials for applications such as sustainable construction
  • the networked control of systems

The existing buildings have a total floor area of about 200,000 m2. The campus will comprise 39 ha, the commercial belt 70 ha, and the industrial park 82 ha. The total surface area of the Urban Tech Republic covers 211 ha.

Users of the Urban Tech Republic will be start-ups, students and scientists, as well as established companies. Two important anchor tenants already stand confirmed: the Beuth University for Applied Sciences and the Berlin Fire and Rescue Service Academy (BFRA).

Up to 1,000 companies can take residence here; up to 20,000 jobs are to be created.

Berlin TXL – Schumacher Quartier

In the eastern part of the airport grounds and extending a little way beyond will be the 48 ha Schumacher Quartier. This new residential quarter will offer more than 5,000 residential units for more than 10,000 people – including related facilities such as schools, daycare centers, sports and shopping facilities, and lots of greenery. The new district will be the world's largest timber-constructed district.

As a sustainable and socially mixed area, Schumacher Quartier will make an important contribution to the German capital's strategy for residential construction and city development. In a Charter all partners involved have agreed upon seven guidelines for the development of Schumacher Quartiers:

  • Urban living spaces
  • Housing for everyone
  • Urban green space and public areas
  • Open educational landscape
  • Climate-friendly and water-sensitive urban development
  • District with environmentally friendly mobility guaranteed
  • Communication, participation, and transparency

Landscape area

The dry grass areas above the northern take-off and landing runway will become a landscape zone of more than 200 ha, adjacent to the recreation area in the western part of Berlin. Plans are under way.

When does construction work begin?

We begin after the acquisition of the site – between May and August 2021 – first with preparatory construction measures, for example, site security or installation of construction logistics. After eliminating any dangerous waste that may be present, the first civil engineering work will start in 2022, as will the restoration and reconstruction work on the existing buildings in the Urban Tech Republic. This is followed by construction of the first residential units and of the education campus in Schumacher Quartier, beginning in 2024.

When will the construction work be completed?

We are expecting an implementation period of around 20 to 30 years.

The education campus and the first residential buildings in Schumacher Quartier are expected to be finished by 2027; the final ones in the 2030s. Construction in the Urban Tech Republic will probably last another ten years, but it may also take less or even more time, depending on the economic situation. The research and industrial site will never be truly "finished" – it will keep evolving quickly and easily, with its face also constantly changing.

Will the airport buildings disappear?

No, that won't happen. Large parts of the existing buildings are listed buildings and will form the nucleus of the future Urban Tech Republic. The iconic ensemble of buildings will be preserved for Berlin. Only lower grade parts without protected status will be removed, for example containers, tanks above ground and such like, or buildings that do not form part of the historic architectural ensemble.

How will the tower and terminals continue to be used?

The Beuth University for Applied Sciences, Berlin, will move into central Terminal A – in all likelihood in 2027. Terminals B and D are planned as start-up and conference centers. There are numerous ideas for the tower, but a decision about its subsequent use has not yet been made.

Terminal C will be dismantled. This provisional annex, dating from 2007, is neither part of the historic ensemble nor a listed building.

Who can acquire pieces of property on the site? And at what kind of prices?

All future properties in Berlin TXL are available to investors as part of leasehold estate contracts. In this way, the State of Berlin retains ownership of the properties. Companies and institutions conforming to profile in the field of urban technologies can acquire a leasehold estate contract for properties in the Urban Tech Republic. The ground rent is determined by the type and degree of the future use and the corresponding stipulations of the State of Berlin, as is also the term of leasehold estate contracts.

Half of the area in Schumacher Quartier goes to state-owned housing associations. The other half will be offered, also as part of the awarding of leasehold estate contracts, to housing cooperatives, construction groups, and providers tendering for special types of housing (e.g. student residences). The first award processes start in 2021.

The landscape area, the landscape park and the district park in Schumacher Quartier are available to the general public. No leasehold estate can be acquired here.

When can something be rented? And for how much?

Urban Tech Republic: Starting in 2021 the first spaces in the existing buildings of the former airport will already be able to be leased in tandem with the construction process. Some buildings are still to be renovated before their long-term further use. Rents will be based on the commercial leasing in the respective market situation. In the start-up and technology centers that are being created, the spaces are being made available to eligible start-up companies under more favorable conditions.

Schumacher Quartier: The first residential units are expected to be ready to occupy starting in 2027 and will be leased out by the state-owned housing associations and cooperatives. The proportion of subsidized rents will be around 40 percent in the district.

Will the bus connection to the airport continue to exist?

  • Bus line 109 will be extended to the new Urban Tech Republic terminus, which is located at the former West Access Control Point. You can find the bus route to the Urban Tech Republic here.
  • Bus line 128 runs only between the stops U Osloer Strasse and U Kurt-Schumacher-Platz and no longer continues in the direction of the former airport building.
  • Bus lines TXL and X9 will be canceled.
  • With continued development of the Urban Tech Republic and Schumacher Quartier, new connections to the Public Transport Network can be expected. A U-Bahn connection is being tested and an S-Bahn junction is planned.

What adverse effects are expected?

The former Tegel Airport will become a major construction site, which also will have repercussions on its surroundings and the neighborhood. We would like to keep these as small as possible and at the same time we ask for your understanding for necessary measures.

There will be two central construction site accesses: one at the former airport access at Saatwinkler Damm (South Access) and one at Kurt-Schumacher-Damm, approximately located near house number 125 (East Access). Construction vehicles and trucks will drive in and out here.

The site will be searched by us for explosive ordnance from the Second World War. If what is called a 'dud' is discovered, there may be temporary street closures and, if need be, even evacuations in the surrounding area.

Meteorstrasse will be converted into an urban road with new sidewalks and bike paths, grass verges planted with trees, as well as two lanes in both directions. Here also restrictions are to be expected during the construction work.

We will inform you in a timely manner about any upcoming measures.

As part of the Integrated Urban Development Plan (German acronym ISEK), various measures are being implemented for development of the area close to Tegel Airport. You will find more detailed information about this on the website of the Senate Administration for Urban Development and Housing.

How much longer will the Federal Armed Forces ("Bundeswehr") be on the grounds?

Parts of the "TXL North" development area are still expected to continue to be used until 2029 by the Helicopter Squadron of the Executive Transport Wing of the Federal Armed Forces ("Bundeswehr"). Planning is not affected by this. A start on this construction phase is not expected to be made until 2030.

What does the project development cost and who pays for it all?

Berlin TXL is being financed from several different public and private sources: From Berlin's budgetary resources, subsidies from the EU and the Federal Government, and the marketing and leasing of premises. In all we are counting on total investments of around eight billion euros, the major portion of which will be private investments.

How can I participate with my company in the implementation?

Tegel Projekt GmbH is a public corporation and awards the contracts as part of public tender procedures that, depending on their size, are published on the stipulated platforms, for example on the State of Berlin's tendering platform. Join in our public tenders - we look forward to working with you!

In the future, when so many people are out and about in the residential district and in the Urban Tech Republic, won't the streets, the public transport system and their surroundings then be congested?

Quite the opposite: It's rather that the traffic will be lighter and the environment will be freed up. As a comparison: Before the slump in air traffic as a consequence of the Corona crisis, every day there were more than 70,000 people en route to the airport – via the bottleneck that was the airport feeder road. In the future as many as 20,000 people will work in the area and around 10,000 people will live there. In addition, an innovative mobility concept has been developed for Berlin TXL.

Won't rents go up in the neighborhood in the future? Isn't there a fear of gentrification?

After the closure of the Tegel Airport almost 30,000 residential units will be able to be built on the actual grounds and in their extended radius, which will bring considerable relief to the situation in the Berlin housing market. Moreover, in Spandau and Reinickendorf consideration is being given to environmentally protected areas in order to keep the appreciation pressure low after closure of the airport. In addition, the tools of the Federal Government (rent curbs) and of the State of Berlin (rent cap) will take effect here. Furthermore, for the environs of the airport site a plan known as the Integrated Urban Development Concept (German Acronym ISEK) "Berlin TXL Surrounding Area" has been developed. The objective is to network the Urban Tech Republic and Schumacher Quartier as closely as possible with the existing city districts all around.

Are the grounds accessible to the public?

Not in the short term - when air traffic stopped, the grounds were closed. However, beginning in 2021 we will be on site with an information center in Building V, where not only will you be able to obtain information, visit exhibitions or participate in events, but you will also be able to book tours of the construction site tours. In the meantime, visit our initial InfoPoint or our digital Info center at www.zukunft-berlintxl.de.

Provided the situation with the Corona virus in summer 2021 permits, we would like to organize an open house day in August. Then, not only should the buildings be open, but also, for the first time, the airside, which has been cordoned off until now, together with the airfield and the runways for take-off and landing.

Next, the grounds will become a huge construction site with the appropriate security to prevent unauthorized access. As soon as each construction phase is finished, that section will then also be accessible to the public.

After explosive ordnance clearances and site remediation, the extensive landscape space north and west of the Urban Tech Republic will be opened to the general public in the next few years in succession. For this also, several new accesses will be created.

What new leisure facilities will there be?

Very many. In addition to the huge landscape zone, access to which will be free, numerous attractive sports and exercise facilities are planned: playgrounds, multi-purpose sports facilities, and fitness and health stations along jogging paths. On the surface of the landing strip and the taxiway there will be a roller derby track, a street skateboarding park, a streetball facility, a bicycle parcours, and a calisthenics parcours, among many other offerings. On the green spaces of the park there are plans for a rock-climbing gym, a soccer field, and an area for frisbee golf, as well as an outdoor fitness area.

All sports and play areas in the district and landscape park will be designed taking into account gender guidelines and with as few barriers as possible in order to promote communal play. As regards sports and playing facilities, shade roofs and seating facilities, picnic tables and informal bleachers have been arranged creating a wide variety of places to meet.

Tegel Projekt GmbH Lietzenburger Straße 107 D-10707 Berlin Phone: +49 30 5770 47 00 e-mail: info@berlintxl.de @BerlinTXL Youtube

Fragen und Antworten zu Berlin TXL (Stand: November 2020)

Hier finden Sie Antworten auf häufig gestellte Fragen. Sollten Sie darüber hinaus etwas wissen wollen, sprechen Sie uns bitte an. Ihre Ansprechpersonen finden Sie hier.

Was passiert auf dem Gelände des ehemaligen Flughafens Tegel?

Auf dem fünf Quadratkilometer großen Areal entstehen:

Berlin TXL – The Urban Tech Republic
Aus den Flughafengebäuden und auf den angrenzenden Flächen entsteht Berlin TXL – The Urban Tech Republic, ein Forschungs- und Industriepark, in dem Technologien für die Stadt von morgen erforscht, entwickelt, produziert, getestet und exportiert werden. Hier treffen Wissenschaft und Forschung auf Industrie und Gewerbe und Start-ups auf Investoren. Für den kuratierten Standort wurden sechs Kernthemen urbaner Technologien definiert:

  • klimaneutrale Energiesysteme und der effiziente Einsatz von Energie
  • umweltschonende Mobilität
  • sauberes Wasser
  • Recycling
  • der Einsatz neuer Materialien für Anwendungen wie nachhaltiges Bauen
  • die vernetzte Steuerung von Systemen

Die Bestandsgebäude haben rund 200.000 m2 Bruttogeschossfläche. Der Campus wird 39 ha umfassen, das Gewerbeband 70 ha und der Industriepark 82 ha. Die Gesamtfläche der Urban Tech Republic umfasst 211 ha.

Nutzer der Urban Tech Republic werden Start-ups, Studierende, Wissenschaftler sowie etablierte Unternehmen sein. Zwei wichtige Ankernutzer stehen bereits fest: die Beuth Hochschule für Technik und die Berliner Feuerwehr- und Rettungsdienstakademie (BFRA).

Bis zu 1.000 Unternehmen können sich hier ansiedeln; bis zu 20.000 Arbeitsplätze sollen entstehen.

Berlin TXL – Schumacher Quartier

Im Osten des Flughafengeländes und ein Stück darüber hinaus entsteht das 48 ha große Schumacher Quartier. Dieses neue Wohnviertel wird über 5.000 Wohnungen für mehr als 10.000 Menschen bieten – mitsamt den dazugehörigen Einrichtungen wie Schulen, Kitas, Sportanlagen, Einkaufsmöglichkeiten und viel Grün. Das neue Stadtviertel wird das größte Holzbauquartier weltweit sein. 

Als nachhaltiges und sozial gemischtes Areal wird das Schumacher Quartier einen wichtigen Beitrag zur Wohnungsbau- und Stadtentwicklungsstrategie der deutschen Hauptstadt leisten. In einer Charta haben sich alle beteiligten Partner auf sieben Leitlinien für die Entwicklung des Schumacher Quartiers geeinigt:

•    Urbane Lebensräume
•    Wohnen für alle
•    Stadtgrün und öffentlicher Raum
•    Offene Bildungslandschaft
•    Klimagerechte und wassersensible Stadtentwicklung
•    Quartier mit umweltfreundlicher Mobilitätsgarantie
•    Kommunikation, Partizipation und Transparenz

Natur- und Landschaftsraum
Aus den Trockengrasflächen oberhalb der nördlichen Start- und Landebahn wird ein über 200 ha großer Landschaftsraum, der an die Naherholungslandschaft im Berliner Westen anschließt. Die Planungen laufen.

Wann beginnen die Bauarbeiten?

Wir beginnen nach der Übernahme des Geländes – zwischen Mai und August 2021 – zunächst mit bauvorbereitenden Maßnahmen, etwa der Geländesicherung oder der Einrichtung der Baulogistik. Nach der Beseitigung ggf. vorhandener Altlasten starten dann 2022 die ersten Tiefbaumaßnahmen. Ebenso die Umbau- und Sanierungsarbeiten der Bestandsgebäude in der Urban Tech Republic. Ab 2024 folgt der Hochbau der ersten Wohnhäuser und des Bildungscampus‘ im Schumacher Quartier.

Wann werden die Bauarbeiten abgeschlossen sein?

Wir rechnen mit einem Realisierungszeitraum von ca. 20 bis 30 Jahren.

Der Bildungscampus und die ersten Wohngebäude im Schumacher Quartier werden voraussichtlich bis 2027 fertig sein; die letzten in den 2030er Jahren. Das Baugeschehen in der Urban Tech Republic wird vermutlich weitere zehn Jahre andauern, kann aber – je nach konjunktureller Lage – auch weniger oder mehr Zeit in Anspruch nehmen. Wirklich „fertig“ wird der Forschungs- und Industriestandort nie sein – er wird sich agil entwickeln und sein Gesicht auch stetig wandeln.

Werden die Flughafengebäude verschwinden?

Nein, das wird nicht geschehen. Große Teile des Gebäudebestands stehen unter Denkmalschutz und werden den Kern der künftigen Urban Tech Republic bilden. Das ikonische Gebäudeensemble bleibt Berlin erhalten. Entfernt werden nur nachrangige Bauteile ohne Denkmalschutz, zum Beispiel Container, oberirdische Tanks o.ä. oder Gebäude, die nicht zum historischen Ensemble gehören.

Wie werden Tower und Terminals weitergenutzt?

In den zentralen Terminal A zieht – voraussichtlich 2027 – die Beuth Hochschule für Technik Berlin ein. Die Terminals B und D sind als Start-up- und Konferenzzentren vorgesehen. Ideen für den Tower gibt es zahlreiche – über seine Nachnutzung ist aber noch nicht entschieden.

Terminal C wird zurückgebaut. Dieser provisorische Anbau aus dem Jahr 2007 zählt nicht zum historischen Ensemble und steht auch nicht unter Denkmalschutz.

Wer kann auf dem Areal Grundstücke erwerben? Und zu welchem Preis?

Alle zukünftigen Grundstücke in Berlin TXL stehen Investoren im Rahmen von Erbbaurechtsverträgen zur Verfügung. Damit verbleibt das Eigentum an den Grundstücken beim Land Berlin.

Profilkonforme Unternehmen und Institutionen aus dem Bereich der urbanen Technologien können das Erbbaurecht für Grundstücke in der Urban Tech Republic erwerben. Der Erbbauzins orientiert sich an Art und Maß der zukünftigen Nutzung und den entsprechenden Vorgaben des Landes Berlin – ebenso wie die Laufzeit der Erbbaurechtsverträge.

Die Flächen im Schumacher Quartier gehen zur Hälfte an landeseigene Wohnungsbaugesellschaften. Die andere Hälfte wird, ebenfalls im Rahmen der Vergabe von Erbbaurechten, Wohnungsbaugenossenschaften, Baugruppen und Anbietern für Sonderwohnformen (z.B. Studierendenwohnungen) angeboten. Die ersten Vergabeverfahren starten 2021.

Der Landschaftsraum, der Landschaftspark und der Quartierspark im Schumacher Quartier stehen der Allgemeinheit zur Verfügung. Hier können keine Erbbaurechte erworben werden.

Ab wann kann man etwas mieten? Und zu welchem Preis?

Urban Tech Republic: Erste Flächen in den Bestandsgebäuden des ehemaligen Flughafens können bereits ab 2021 parallel zum Baugeschehen angemietet werden. Einige Gebäude werden vor ihrer langfristigen Weiternutzung noch saniert. Die Mieten orientieren sich bei gewerblicher Vermietung an der jeweiligen Marktsituation. In den entstehenden Gründungs- und Technologiezentren werden förderfähigen Gründungsunternehmen die Flächen zu reduzierten Konditionen zur Verfügung gestellt.

Schumacher Quartier: Die ersten Wohnungen sind voraussichtlich ab 2027 bezugsbereit und werden von den landeseigenen Wohnungsbaugesellschaften und -genossenschaften vermietet. Der Anteil geförderter Mieten liegt im Quartier bei ca. 40 Prozent.

Bleibt die Busanbindung zum Flughafen bestehen?

  • Die Buslinie 109 wird zur neuen Endhaltestelle Urban Tech Republic geführt, die sich an der bisherigen Zugangskontrollstelle West befindet. Den Linienverlauf zur Haltestelle Urban Tech Republic finden Sie hier.
  • Die Buslinie 128 fährt nur zwischen den Haltestellen U Osloer Straße und U Kurt-Schumacher-Platz, nicht mehr weiter in Richtung des ehemaligen Flughafengebäudes.
  • Die Buslinien TXL und X9 entfallen.
  • Mit der weiteren Entwicklung der Urban Tech Republic und des Schumacher Quartiers ist mit neuen Anbindungen an den ÖPNV zu rechnen. Geprüft wird ein U-Bahnanschluss und eine Straßenbahnanbindung ist geplant.

Mit welchen Beeinträchtigungen ist zu rechnen?

Der ehemalige Flughafen Tegel wird zur Großbaustelle, was auch mit Auswirkungen für die Umgebung bzw. Nachbarschaft verbunden sein wird. Diese möchten wir so klein wie möglich halten und bitten zugleich um Verständnis für die notwendigen Maßnahmen.

Es wird zwei zentrale Baustellen-Zufahrten geben: Eine an der ehemaligen Flughafenzufahrt am Saatwinkler Damm (Süd-Zufahrt) und eine am Kurt-Schumacher-Damm, ungefähr auf Höhe der Hausnummer 125 (Ost-Zufahrt). Hier werden Baufahrzeuge und Laster ein- und ausfahren.

Das Gelände wird von uns nach Kampfmitteln aus dem 2. Weltkrieg abgesucht. Sollte ein „Blindgänger“ entdeckt werden, kann es zu temporären Straßensperrungen und ggf. auch Evakuierungsmaßnahmen im Umfeld kommen.

Die Meteorstraße wird zu einer Stadtstraße mit neuen Geh- und Radwegen, baumbepflanzten Grünstreifen sowie zwei Fahrbahnen in beide Richtungen umgebaut. Auch hier ist mit Einschränkungen während der Bauarbeiten zu rechnen.

Über anstehende Maßnahmen werden wir rechtzeitig informieren.

Im Rahmen des Integrierten Städtebaulichen Entwicklungskonzepts (ISEK) werden verschiedene Maßnahmen zur Gebietsentwicklung der Umgebung des Flughafens Tegel durchgeführt. Nähere Informationen hierzu finden Sie auf der Website der Senatsverwaltung für Stadtentwicklung und Wohnen.

Wie lange bleibt die Bundeswehr noch auf dem Gelände?

Teile der Entwicklungsfläche „TXL Nord“ werden noch voraussichtlich bis 2029 weiter von der Hubschrauberstaffel der Bundeswehr-Flugbereitschaft genutzt. Die Planungen sind hiervon nicht betroffen. Dieser Bauabschnitt wird voraussichtlich erst 2030 in Angriff genommen.

Was kostet die Projektentwicklung und wer bezahlt das alles?

Berlin TXL wird aus verschiedenen öffentlichen und privaten Quellen finanziert: aus Berliner Haushaltsmitteln, Fördergeldern von EU und Bund und der Vermarktung und Vermietung von Flächen. Insgesamt rechnen wir mit Gesamtinvestitionen von etwa acht Milliarden Euro, wobei der Großteil davon private Investitionen sein werden.

Wie kann ich mich mit meinem Unternehmen an der Umsetzung beteiligen?

Die Tegel Projekt GmbH ist ein öffentliches Unternehmen und vergibt die Aufträge im Rahmen von öffentlichen Vergabeverfahren, die je nach Größenordnung auf den vorgeschriebenen Plattformen, beispielsweise auf der Vergabeplattform des Landes Berlin, veröffentlicht werden. Beteiligen Sie sich an unseren Ausschreibungen, wir freuen aus auf die Zusammenarbeit!

Wenn künftig so viele Menschen im Wohnquartier und in der Urban Tech Republic unterwegs sind: Werden dann Straßen, ÖPNV und das Umfeld nicht überlastet sein?

Im Gegenteil: Der Verkehr wird eher geringer und das Umfeld entlastet. Zum Vergleich: Vor dem Einbruch des Flugverkehrs infolge der Corona-Krise waren jeden Tag mehr als 70.000 Menschen zum Flughafen unterwegs – über das Nadelöhr des Flughafen-Zubringers. Zukünftig werden in dem Gebiet bis zu 20.000 Menschen arbeiten und etwa 10.000 Menschen wohnen. Für Berlin TXL wurde außerdem ein innovatives Mobilitätskonzept erarbeitet.

Werden künftig die Mieten in der Nachbarschaft steigen? Ist Gentrifizierung zu befürchten?

Nach der Schließung des Flughafens Tegel können auf dem Gelände selbst und im weiteren Umfeld fast 30.000 Wohnungen gebaut werden, was die Situation auf dem Berliner Wohnungsmarkt erheblich entspannt. In Spandau und Reinickendorf gibt es zudem Überlegungen für Milieuschutzgebiete, um den Aufwertungsdruck nach der Schließung des Flughafens gering zu halten. Weiter greifen hier die Instrumente des Bundes (Mietpreisbremse) und des Landes Berlin (Mietendeckel). Für die Umgebung des Flughafenareals wurde außerdem das sog. ISEK (Integriertes städtebauliches Entwicklungskonzept) „Umfeld Berlin TXL“ erarbeitet. Ziel ist es, die Urban Tech Republic und das Schumacher Quartier möglichst gut mit den bestehenden Stadtvierteln rundherum zu vernetzen.

Ist das Gelände öffentlich zugänglich?

Nicht kurzfristig, mit Beendigung des Flugverkehrs wurde das Gelände gesperrt. Wir werden aber ab 2021 mit einem Infocenter in Gebäude V vor Ort sein, wo Sie sich nicht nur informieren, Ausstellungen besuchen oder an Veranstaltungen teilnehmen können, sondern auch die Möglichkeit haben, Baustellen-Führungen zu buchen. Bevor es soweit ist, besuchen Sie unseren ersten Infopunkt oder unser digitales Infocenter unter www.zukunft-berlintxl.de!

Sofern es die Corona-Situation im Sommer 2021 zulässt, möchten wir im August einen Tag der offenen Tür veranstalten. Dann sollen nicht nur die Gebäude offenstehen, sondern erstmals auch die bislang abgeriegelte Luftseite mit dem Rollfeld sowie den Start- und Landebahnen.

Anschließend wird das Gelände zur Großbaustelle mit entsprechender Sicherung gegen unbefugten Zutritt. Sobald die jeweiligen Bauabschnitte fertiggestellt sind, sind sie dann auch öffentlich zugänglich.

Der weitläufige Landschaftsraum nördlich und westlich der Urban Tech Republic wird nach Kampfmittelberäumungen und Altlastensanierungen sukzessive in den nächsten Jahren für die Allgemeinheit geöffnet. Hierzu werden auch mehrere neue Zugänge geschaffen.

Welche neuen Freizeitangebote wird es geben?

Eine ganze Menge. Abgesehen vom riesigen Landschaftsraum, der frei zugänglich sein wird, ist eine Vielzahl attraktiver Sport- und Bewegungsangebote vorgesehen: Spielplätze, Multisportanlagen sowie Fitness- und Gesundheitspunkte entlang von Laufstrecken. Auf dem Belag der Landebahn und des Taxiways sollen eine Rollerderbybahn, eine Street-Skateanlage, eine Streetball-Anlage, ein Fahrradparcours, ein Parcours- und Calisthenics-Angebot u.v.m. angeboten werden. In den Grünflächen des Parks werden eine Boulder-Anlage, ein Rasenballsportbereich, eine Fläche für Frisbee-Golf sowie ein Outdoor Fitnessbereich geplant.

Alle Sport- und Spielbereiche im Quartiers- und Landschaftspark werden unter Berücksichtigung der Gendervorgaben und so barrierearm wie möglich gestaltet, um ein gemeinsames Spielen zu unterstützen. Im Bereich der Sport- und Spielangebote werden Schattendächer und Sitzangebote, Picknicktische und informelle Tribünen angeordnet, so dass vielfältige Treffpunkte entstehen.

Tegel Projekt GmbH Lietzenburger Straße 107 D-10707 Berlin Telefon: +49 30 5770 47 00 E-Mail: info@berlintxl.de